top of page

The Way of The Bear

The Way of the Bear with AMC burst.jpg

Fossil harvesting, ancient lore, greed, rejected love and murder combine in this gripping new installment of New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman’s Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito series.


The Bears Ears area, at the edge of the Navajo Nation, is celebrated for its abundance unique fossils and early human habitation sites. For Chee and Manuelito, the area glows with geological interest and spiritual insight. But their visit to this achingly beautiful place is disrupted by a current of violence that sweeps them both into danger.

An unexpected death on a lonely road outside of Utah’s Bears Ears National Monument raises questions for Navajo Tribal Police officers Jim Chee and Bernadette Manuelito. Why would a seasoned outdoorsman and well-known paleontologist freeze to death within walking distance of his car?


A second death brings more turmoil. Who is the unidentified man killed during an apparent home invasion in which nothing seems to have been taken? Why was he murdered?

A fossilized jawbone, a mysterious disappearance and a blizzard heighten the suspense. Manuelito and Chee need all of their experience, skill, and intuition to survive the threats that arise and solve the mysteries so that justice is served.

"An intriguing plot matches the well-developed, reflective leads. As always, the real strength of this series lies in its authentic atmosphere, evocative descriptions of the landscape, and fascinating details of Navajo life. Hillerman consistently satisfies."— Publishers Weekly

“Besides offering an involving mystery, Hillerman delivers meaty insights on the natural world, paleontology, ancient and enduring Navajo customs and traditions, and the role of Indigenous people in preserving the land and nature’s bounty.” — Booklist

“The Way of the Bear is the eighth in Anne Hillerman’s absorbing Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito novels. And it’s probably packed with more mystery scenes than any of her others in the series. . . . The mysteries begin with the first sentence and keep building, foreshadowing drama and crimes.” — Albuquerque Journal

  • 2023 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards — Best Mystery

  • 2023 New Mexico Book Association — Southwest Book Design Award

bottom of page