top of page

Another NYT Best-Seller

The Way of the Bear
Anne does it again!

Fossil harvesting, ancient lore, greed, rejected love and murder combine in this gripping new installment of New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman’s Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito series.



The Bears Ears area, at the edge of the Navajo Nation, is celebrated for its abundance unique fossils and early human habitation sites. For Chee and Manuelito, the area glows with geological interest and spiritual insight. But their visit to this achingly beautiful place is disrupted by a current of violence that sweeps them both into danger.

“Anne Hillerman’s taken familiar characters and locations and struck out on a literary legacy all her own.”

- Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Longmire Series

“Anne Hillerman is a star.”

- J. A. Jance, Bestselling Author

“Anne Hillerman brilliantly continues the Hillerman legacy, expanding the mystery genre by making Bernadette Manuelito America’s most popular Native American female law enforcement officer.” 

- David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author

“I truly love the continuing series of novels by Anne Hillerman featuring Joe Leaphorn, Jim Chee, and Bernadette Manuelito—who are, each in their own way, fictional characters for the ages. “

- Douglas Preston, Bestselling Author

“Besides offering an involving mystery, Hillerman delivers meaty insights on the natural world, paleontology, ancient and enduring Navajo customs and traditions, and the role of Indigenous people in preserving the land and nature’s bounty.”

Emily Melton, Booklist

News & More
The Way of the Bear
available in paperback 1/23/2024! 
Order from your bookseller
Click here to see events for The Way of the Bear
Coming in 2025: Season 3 of AMC's Dark Winds
bottom of page